top of page

Winding down and winter work

It's that time of year again- when farm work starts winding down, and I take a look around and try to figure out where I left off with everything in my little crafty world. Spring, summer, and fall are always such a whirlwind that I barely have time for creative arts, but I wouldn't trade it for anything. Farm work is hard in so many ways, and yet I am so glad to have found it.

All set up on a barrel table

With that said, I am so grateful for winter. The cold weather forces us to slow down, bundle up, and take stock of what we've done and what is coming. For me, this year, I've been trying to become open to new things, and take new chances. I just attended a craft fair this past weekend, and I was so excited to bring all of the goodies I've been making and hoarding out into the real world!

We were set up in the warehouse space of a local brewery, which meant that we were surrounded by aging barrels and beer cans, and even my table was a barrel! It was a super fun day, and the best part was just hanging out and talking to the other crafters in the room and admiring their handiwork.

Let me be clear, having actual live customers buying my products was pretty freaking cool, but just being there was such a blast. It made me think that maybe I could have a shot at making my love of crafting a little bit more than a winter hobby. I'm still figuring out where I'm going and what I'm doing, but things are starting to come together, and that's scary and exciting and fun.

Speaking of making this more than a hobby, I haven't even told you the most exciting part yet. A friend of mine, Kristin, started her own business this year, and she decided to host classes in her space. She reached out to me and asked if there was anything I would like to teach, and long story short, Soul Stitching was born.

We came up with a very fun and insightful combination- she leads a group meditation and guides everyone using cards with advice and insights on them, and then I teach everyone how to stitch a custom designed hand embroidery hoop. We've taught a few of these classes so far, and I am just blown away by the response. Thank you thank you to everyone who has come out and tried this with us, it's been such a blast.

I'll be continuing to teach with Kristin at Soul Expressions all winter and maybe into the growing season, and I'm also looking into more avenues to bring the joy of stitching to more people.

Who knows what this winter will bring, but right now, it doesn't seem like things will be winding down any time soon.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page